Thread poster: Denise De Peña (X)
Denise De Peña (X)
Denise De Peña (X)
Guatemala
Local time: 09:44
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 16, 2021

Hello, can someone please explain to me what is meant by data packaging as applied to a translation? Thanks !!

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 17:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
No idea Aug 18, 2021

My best client is an EDI software company and I've been working with them for about twenty years. A large part of the work consists of translating software strings (data), which are simply chunks of text in Spanish which I translate into English. However, I have no idea what "data packaging" for translations means, and if they ever mentioned it to me, I would have to ask them to explain what it means. I could try to guess, but that would not be very fruitful. My advice in this case is to ask the... See more
My best client is an EDI software company and I've been working with them for about twenty years. A large part of the work consists of translating software strings (data), which are simply chunks of text in Spanish which I translate into English. However, I have no idea what "data packaging" for translations means, and if they ever mentioned it to me, I would have to ask them to explain what it means. I could try to guess, but that would not be very fruitful. My advice in this case is to ask the company, agency or person who used the expression in the first place exactly what they mean, if this is possible.

FWIW, here's a link to a definition of "data packaging":
https://www.caul.edu.au/sites/default/files/documents/cairss/cairss2019CAIRSS_Mason_DataPackage_Lightning.pdf

To work with data packaging, it seems you would need to have some sort of programming knowledge, about metadata markers in general and specifically about the different formats used:
Formats including:
• HTML, XML, JSON-LD
• DC, MARC, Schema.org

[Edited at 2021-08-18 06:42 GMT]
Collapse

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...