Source content uses both US and UK English. What impact can this have on translation?
Thread poster: Jennifer O Neill
Jennifer O Neill
Jennifer O Neill
Belgium
Local time: 18:43
Nov 27, 2023

I'm a technical writer and have joined a company where the content is written in UK and US English depending on the regional market. Content reuse means that a document may have sections written in different versions of English (the writers call it "hybrid English"). Most content is in UK English. The volume of US English is growing. I don't know if our customers notice.
For translation, all English content is in the same translation memory (TM). Our term base, Multiterm, is currently in U
... See more
I'm a technical writer and have joined a company where the content is written in UK and US English depending on the regional market. Content reuse means that a document may have sections written in different versions of English (the writers call it "hybrid English"). Most content is in UK English. The volume of US English is growing. I don't know if our customers notice.
For translation, all English content is in the same translation memory (TM). Our term base, Multiterm, is currently in UK English only.
What is the impact on translation using 2 versions of English in the same TM? Can Multiterm work with 2 versions of English simultaneously?
Thanks.
Collapse

Abdi Muhumed

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
Yes Nov 27, 2023

Yes, I think it can cover both. The TM should capture both without issues, I sometimes get mixed source English texts like that, didn’t have issues.

[Edited at 2023-11-27 18:39 GMT]

Abdi Muhumed

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Tidy up texts after translation Dec 5, 2023