Time needed for proofreading aka am I too slow ?
Thread poster: Pia Myeong-Jin Lampert
Pia Myeong-Jin Lampert
Pia Myeong-Jin Lampert  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 09:33
Member (2023)
English to German
Mar 2, 2023

Dear colleagues,

as I am still relatively new in the translation/proofreading/editing field, I would like to ask you a question. Recently, my clients send a lot of "urgent request" proofreading jobs (IT/Software/Life Sciences/Clinical Trials). They expect 4000 words to be done in a day or sometimes even less. Unfortunately, in most cases the translation is not of the best quality, so it takes some time to proofread the text. So far I have turned down every job containing 4000-5000
... See more
Dear colleagues,

as I am still relatively new in the translation/proofreading/editing field, I would like to ask you a question. Recently, my clients send a lot of "urgent request" proofreading jobs (IT/Software/Life Sciences/Clinical Trials). They expect 4000 words to be done in a day or sometimes even less. Unfortunately, in most cases the translation is not of the best quality, so it takes some time to proofread the text. So far I have turned down every job containing 4000-5000 words with a delivery time of one day or even less, as I do not think that I can provide substance and quality in such a short time, especially in fields such as IT or Clinical Trials.

My question is, am I too slow? Is it reasonable to proofread 4000 words in one day, especially if I don't know the quality of the translation or if the translation is mediocre at best?

Thank you

[Edited at 2023-03-03 08:58 GMT]
Collapse

Adieu
Adieu  Identity Verified
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
Yes Mar 2, 2023

800-ish/hour on complex or unfamiliar projects and 1000-1500/hour on repetitive familiar stuff is normal.

That's with a CAT tool and for an active hour. 6000 words per day is comfortable, 10,000+ is headache-inducing.