I have translated manually 2 million words, no CAT tools. Best software to take advantage from it?
Thread poster: arnoldpredator
arnoldpredator
arnoldpredator
Local time: 15:56
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 29, 2022

Hello guys,

I have been working for 3 years and I have done all my translations manually.
The content is host in 2 websites, one in Spanish and the other in English.
I wanted to find a software that allows me to upload the English version and the Spanish version to "train" it, I mean to train a neural network or machine learning tool.

I have found AWS Translation but the problem is that they are asking me to use Memory files, or CSV, but I don't have that,
... See more
Hello guys,

I have been working for 3 years and I have done all my translations manually.
The content is host in 2 websites, one in Spanish and the other in English.
I wanted to find a software that allows me to upload the English version and the Spanish version to "train" it, I mean to train a neural network or machine learning tool.

I have found AWS Translation but the problem is that they are asking me to use Memory files, or CSV, but I don't have that, I only have plain text.

What is the best way to take advantage of all the hard work I have done in the past? Any ideas?

Thank you guys!
Collapse

Rolf Keller

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 16:56
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Alignment May 29, 2022

I'm no expert; but when I have a matching pair of documents in a language pair like this, I would usually be looking at an alignment tool, to create a parallel bilingual file, from which you can then extract some kind of terminology database, which you will then be able to exploit within a CAT tool.
I'm sure utilities already exists for doing this, and particualrly, for 2 million words, you may well be glad of some help handling the sheer volume. I don't usually work with such large docume
... See more