Hello all,
I'm new to subtitling and my first project is quite complicated. I'm subtitling
an episode of a Spanish comedic web series. 60% of the episode already has
subtitles in Spanish (the characters are being interviewed by a reporter and
much humour is derived from the subtitling of their oftentimes incoherent
speech). What is the normal practice in this situation? Should all the English
subtitles appear at the top of the screen throughout the episode or only when
there are spanish subtitles? Also, I'm working with Media Subtitler. Would i
need a more advanced subtitling programme in order to change the position of the
subtitles.
Apologies if these questions are a bit daft. Like I said, I'm new to all this.
Many thanks to whoever responds
Collapse

Just Opera
Just Opera
Belgium
Local time: 12:33
French to English
+ ...
Normal practice is... Oct 6, 2011

Normal practice is you work from a "virgin" copy of the film without any subtitles and do the English ones.

But I understand the problem with translating these kind of language specific in-jokes. The job of a good subtitler is to find an equivalent in the target language to convey the jokes. Not very easy. Things kind of get lost in translation, like the vous and tu of Godard, something that goes over the head of a non-French speake
... See more
Normal practice is you work from a "virgin" copy of the film without any subtitles and do the English ones.

But I understand the problem with translating these kind of language specific in-jokes. The job of a good subtitler is to find an equivalent in the target language to convey the jokes. Not very easy. Things kind of get lost in translation, like the vous and tu of Godard, something that goes over the head of a non-French speaker:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1KUVwKp6MDI

01:26

Her: Should l use ''vous'' (you formal) or ''tu'' (you informal) ?

Him: No difference...

Him: But l can't do without you (toi informal).

[Edited at 2011-10-06 19:42 GMT]
Collapse