Thread poster: marwa ibrahim
marwa ibrahim
marwa ibrahim
Local time: 15:54
Arabic to English
+ ...
Mar 30, 2011

Hello

I'm new to subtitling and trying to get the main rules laid before me. The problem I have encountered while working and for which I'm looking for an answer is that the segments in the target language (English) are, most of the time, much longer than the source sentence (Arabic). Is there a certain rule concerning this? Is there a ratio that should be kept between the number of words in the source vs. the target? Also, is it ok to sacrifice a more eloquent translation for a sho
... See more
Hello

I'm new to subtitling and trying to get the main rules laid before me. The problem I have encountered while working and for which I'm looking for an answer is that the segments in the target language (English) are, most of the time, much longer than the source sentence (Arabic). Is there a certain rule concerning this? Is there a ratio that should be kept between the number of words in the source vs. the target? Also, is it ok to sacrifice a more eloquent translation for a shorter and clearer one? This "length" thing is very unclear to me. Please help me and if you can send me a link to the basics of subtitling (concerning the problems of length) simply and straightforwardly laid, I'd be grateful.

[Edited at 2011-03-30 00:42 GMT]
Collapse

M_A_P
M_A_P  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:54
English to Italian
Book suggestion Mar 30, 2011

Hi,

I'm currently attending a course in subtitling and we are using this book:

Audiovisual Translation: Subtitling
Jorge Diaz-Cintas,
Publisher: Saint Jerome Publications

It is very helpful indeed in giving an overview on semiotics, linguistics and technical considerations of subtitling (for example, from the index: Feet and Frames, Dialogue lists, Style guides, Spatial dimension, Temporal dimension ...)

You can order a cop
... See more
Hi,