Thread poster: leimarina
leimarina
leimarina  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:27
English to Russian
+ ...
Jan 10

Hello,

I've been collaborating with them for 12 years. When I just started working for them, we agreed on a certain hourly rate, but I've almost never performed tasks that were priced on an hourly basis. However I got such task recently and then I discovered that my hourly rate is very outdated in their system. It was never updated during the 12 years of collaboration. I contacted them asking to update my hourly rate. They ignored my email for 3 days and only responded after a remi
... See more
Hello,

I've been collaborating with them for 12 years. When I just started working for them, we agreed on a certain hourly rate, but I've almost never performed tasks that were priced on an hourly basis. However I got such task recently and then I discovered that my hourly rate is very outdated in their system. It was never updated during the 12 years of collaboration. I contacted them asking to update my hourly rate. They ignored my email for 3 days and only responded after a reminder, telling that "they are analyzing this". Several hours later I got an email from them telling me that they won't accept my updated rate, and instead gave an insulting offer to increase the rate by 2.5$ only.
Has anyone dealt with situations like this?

[Edited at 2024-01-11 14:43 GMT]
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 14:27
Danish to English
+ ...
Just tell them what the new rate is Jan 10

Yes, in fact, I recently informed a long-standing client that from now on, the rate is €xx and even justified it with the compounded inflation. They were unwilling to accept it, so I simply told them not to send me any further hourly rate tasks, as I would no longer acceptance the old rate. Almost two months later, they accepted the new rate.

You don't need the client's accept to set your own rates. They can take it or leave it.