Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What's the most user-friendly CAT software?
Thread poster: Charlotte Fleming
Charlotte Fleming
Charlotte Fleming  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:46
Italian to English
+ ...
Oct 5, 2018

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to CAT software and to this site. I've started off using OmegaT but I find it really clunky and unintuitive; I also followed their instructions for downloading a dictionary but they didn't seem to work. What (preferably low-priced) CAT software do more experienced members recommend? I've looked in the Translation Tools drop-down menu and there's plenty of choice but no info to base a decision on.

Or should I just uninstall/reinstall OmegaT and persevere w
... See more
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to CAT software and to this site. I've started off using OmegaT but I find it really clunky and unintuitive; I also followed their instructions for downloading a dictionary but they didn't seem to work. What (preferably low-priced) CAT software do more experienced members recommend? I've looked in the Translation Tools drop-down menu and there's plenty of choice but no info to base a decision on.

Or should I just uninstall/reinstall OmegaT and persevere with it?

Thanks for any/all advice!
Collapse

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 15:46
Italian to English
Subjective Oct 5, 2018

I think the question of "user-friendliness" when it comes to CAT tools is extremely subjective! Some translators will rave about a certain CAT that others absolutely loathe. So I fear the only way to find one you love is to give them a try.

On a positive note, most CATs give you the opportunity to try them out for a while for free. Trados and Memsource are probably the most popular among agencies; I have Trados (2015 version) and I wouldn't be able to do without it no
... See more