Will Volny
Will Volny  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:06
Member (2018)
Czech to English
+ ...
Sep 7, 2018

Does anyone have experience in both of these CAT tools? I am new to CAT tools, I am ashamed to say and realize that I'd better jump in ASAP.
regards,
Will

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 14:06
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Don't be ashamed! Sep 8, 2018

You are actually in very good company!
There are still plenty of professional translators who are not convinced of the blessings of a CAT tool.

However, there are a lot of us who do think they are worth spending money and especially time on - it does require patience to get familiar with a tool like Trados Studio. Don't give up - get someone to help you start, and keep trying.
It may be easier to start with a project that is already set up, and try out the features. Then
... See more
There are still plenty of professional translators who are not convinced of the blessings of a CAT tool.

However, there are a lot of us who do think they are worth spending money and especially time on - it does require patience to get familiar with a tool like Trados Studio. Don't give up - get someone to help you start, and keep trying.
It may be easier to start with a project that is already set up, and try out the features. Then it is easier to understand the options when you are faced with setting up a project for yourself.

I have never tried MemSource, but I know several colleagues who strongly prefer Trados.
Collapse

Joe Ly Sien
Will Volny

Jakov Milicevic
Jakov Milicevic  Identity Verified
Croatia
Local time: 14:06
Member (2010)
Croatian to Italian
+ ...
Trados is full of bugs... Sep 9, 2018

Christine Andersen wrote:

It may be easier to start with a project that is already set up, and try out the features. Then it is easier to understand the options when you are faced with setting up a project for yourself.