Rates: What are the localization editor rates in these countries?
Thread poster: paolacasla
paolacasla
paolacasla
English to Spanish
Apr 4, 2014

When I was a localization editor, I used to get paid by the hour or a small percentage of the word rate based on the typical language specific rate ranges. I was working into Spanish.
I would love to get your guidance for localization editor rates (by the hour) in these countries?
South Africa
Slovakia
Costa Rica
Ireland

Does anybody know?

Bernhard Sulzer
Bernhard Sulzer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:36
English to German
+ ...
Don't be "typical" Apr 4, 2014

paolacasla wrote:

When I was a localization editor, I used to get paid by the hour or a small percentage of the word rate based on the typical language specific rate ranges. I was working into Spanish.
I would love to get your guidance for localization editor rates (by the hour) in these countries?
South Africa
Slovakia
Costa Rica
Ireland

Does anybody know?

There’s plenty of info if you just search for "rates" in the forums or even google what you want to know, adding "Proz.com" if you are looking for opinions from here.

It seems to me a bit naive (sorry) to expect a professional translator to talk about "typical" language-specific rates or rate ranges or for what you call "localization" editor rates. You seem to have worked as a translator before (and you registered here in 2004) - if that was a professional job you held/had - you should have been compensated adequately for your work and also know what it's like to work and make a living as a translator - that's what it's all about -> you need to figure out/calculate what is adequate, what cannot only sustain you as a translator but make it possible for you to pursue this as a career.

You don't want to charge inadequate/cheap rates - you won't last too long and it hurts us all. It doesn't matter how many thousands of people charge/pay/ask for inadequate rates - it doesn't make it right.